(CHICAGO) Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP today announced that five of its attorneys have been given the Best Lawyers’ 2012 Lawyers of the Year honor. The attorneys named include:

  • Fred A. Hicks, Charlotte Family Law
  • Herbert S. Wander, Chicago Securities/Capital Markets Law
  • Janet Goelz Hoffman, Chicago Public Finance Law
  • Laura K. Martin, Chicago Health Care Law
  • Stuart P. Shulruff, Chicago Banking and Finance Law

“This is a well deserved recognition for these attorneys who have distinguished themselves in their respective practice areas,” said Vincent A. F. Sergi, Katten’s National Managing Partner. “These individuals not only deliver excellent service to their clients but also bring a collaborative approach that leads to strong partnerships. They serve as great role models to others in the firm.”

After more than a quarter of a century in publication, Best Lawyers is designating “Lawyers of the Year” in high-profile legal specialties in large legal communities. Only a single lawyer in each specialty in each community is being honored as the “Lawyer of the Year.”

Best Lawyers compiles its lists of outstanding attorneys by conducting exhaustive peer-review surveys in which thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers. The current, 18th edition of The Best Lawyers in America (2012) is based on more than 3.9 million detailed evaluations of lawyers by other lawyers.

The lawyers being honored as “Lawyers of the Year” have received particularly high ratings in surveys by earning a high level of respect among their peers for their abilities, professionalism and integrity.