(CHICAGO) Katten announced today that the firm was named the "Law Firm of the Year" in Litigation – Real Estate Law in the 2023 edition of U.S. News – Best Lawyers® "Best Law Firms." Additionally, the firm was ranked in 28 practice areas nationally.

Firms included in the 2023 "Best Law Firms" edition are recognized for professional excellence as reflected in the consistently impressive ratings from clients and peers. Achieving a ranking signals an exceptional combination of quality work and breadth of legal knowledge in a particular practice area. Only one law firm per legal practice area received the "Law Firm of the Year" recognition, which is based on research and peer feedback.

Katten was ranked nationally in the following areas:

"Law Firm of the Year" Award:

  • Litigation – Real Estate

National Tier 1:

  • Banking and Finance Law
  • Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Commercial Litigation
  • Corporate Law
  • Health Care Law
  • Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity Law
  • Litigation – Bankruptcy
  • Litigation – Real Estate
  • Litigation – Securities
  • Private Funds / Hedge Funds Law
  • Real Estate Law
  • Securities / Capital Markets Law
  • Securities Regulation
  • Securitization and Structured Finance Law
  • Tax Law
  • Trademark Law
  • Trusts & Estates Law

National Tier 2:

  • Criminal Defense: White-Collar
  • Derivatives and Futures Law
  • Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law
  • Entertainment Law – Motion Pictures & Television
  • Litigation – Environmental
  • Litigation – Intellectual Property
  • Mergers & Acquisitions Law
  • Public Finance Law

National Tier 3:

  • Entertainment Law – Music
  • Environmental Law
  • Media Law

Katten was also ranked in 60 metropolitan practice areas in the 2023 "Best Law Firms" edition. A complete listing of the firm's national and metropolitan practice areas recognized can be found here.

The U.S. News – Best Lawyers® "Best Law Firms" rankings are based on a rigorous evaluation process that includes the collection of client and lawyer evaluations, peer review from leading attorneys in the field, and review of additional information provided by law firms as part of the formal submission process. To be eligible for a 2023 ranking, a law firm must have at least one lawyer recognized in the 28th Edition of The Best Lawyers in America list for that particular location and specialty.