(CHICAGO) Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP today announced that 91 of its attorneys were named to Best Lawyers in America® 2016 as a result of being identified by their peers in a wide-range practice areas.

Katten partner Mark D. Wood was chosen as "Lawyer of the Year" in Chicago Securities Regulation. Only one lawyer in each specialty and in each community is selected as "Lawyer of the Year" by Best Lawyers. This designation is based on high ratings in surveys demonstrating a great level of respect among their peers for their abilities, professionalism and integrity.

The Katten attorneys on the 2016 Best Lawyers list include:


  • Danny G. Worrell (Environmental, Oil and Gas)


  • Richard L. Farley (Commercial Litigation)
  • J. Hayden Harrell (Real Estate)
  • Christopher A. Hicks (Litigation-Bankruptcy)
  • Daniel S. Huffenus (Real Estate)
  • Carlton A. Shannon Jr. (Real Estate)


  • Meredith Martin Addy (Litigation-Patent, Patent)
  • Claudia H. Allen (Corporate Governance)
  • Sheldon I. Banoff (Tax)
  • Robert B. Breisblatt (Litigation-Patent)
  • David J. Bryant (Real Estate)
  • Michael R. Callahan (Health Care)
  • David R. Dlugie (Real Estate)
  • Kevin M. Foley (Derivatives and Futures)
  • D. Louis Glaser  (Health Care)
  • Lewis Greenbaum (Municipal)
  • Russell E. Greenblatt (Employee Benefits ERISA)
  • Mark R. Grossmann (Corporate)
  • Arthur W. Hahn (Corporate Law, Derivatives and Futures)
  • Charles Harris (Trusts and Estates)
  • Michael O. Hartz (Trusts and Estates)
  • Ted S. Helwig (Criminal Defense: White-Collar, Litigation–Securities)
  • Janet Goelz Hoffman (Public Finance)
  • Gary W. Howell (Employee Benefits ERISA, Litigation–ERISA)
  • Kenneth M. Jacobson (Real Estate)
  • Michael A. Jacobson (Banking and Finance)
  • Alvin Katz (Real Estate)
  • Andrew G. Klevorn (Antitrust, Litigation–Antitrust)
  • Howard S. Lanznar (Corporate)
  • Lawrence D. Levin (Securities/Capital Markets, Securities Regulation)
  • Floyd A. Mandell (Litigation–Intellectual Property)
  • Laura Keidan Martin (Health Care)
  • Kenneth W. Miller (Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity, Mergers & Acquisitions)
  • Allan B. Muchin (Corporate)
  • Gregory P. L. Pierce (Real Estate)
  • Mark H. Remus (Litigation-Intellectual Property)
  • Saul E. Rudo (Tax)
  • Nat Shapo (Insurance)
  • David R. Shevitz (Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity)
  • Stuart P. Shulruff (Banking and Finance)
  • John P. Sieger (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation–Bankruptcy)
  • Mark C. Simon (Real Estate)
  • Marcia W. Sullivan (Real Estate)
  • James D. Van De Graaff (Derivatives and Futures, Private Funds/Hedge Funds)
  • Alexander S. Vesselinovitch (Commercial Litigation, Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
  • Zack Wagman (Banking and Finance)
  • Herbert S. Wander (Corporate Compliance, Corporate Governance, Corporate Law, Mergers & Acquisitions, Securities/Capital Markets, Securities Regulation)
  • Neil H. Weinberg (Trusts and Estates)
  • Walter S. Weinberg (Corporate)
  • Jennifer I. Wolfe (Banking and Finance)
  • Mark D. Wood (Securities/Capital Markets, Securities Regulation)
  • Sheldon T. Zenner (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)

Los Angeles

  • Steve Cochran (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
  • Abby L. T. Feinman (Litigation–Trusts and Estates, Trusts and Estates)
  • Jeffrey A. Finn (Litigation–Patent)
  • William B. Freeman (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization)
  • Susan A. Grode (Entertainment Law-Motion Pictures and Television)
  • Steven L. Guise (Trusts and Estates)
  • David Halberstadter (Entertainment Law-Motion Pictures and Television)
  • Michael S. Hobel (Entertainment Law–Motion Pictures & Television)
  • Carol A. Johnston (Trusts and Estates)
  • Zia F. Modabber (Entertainment–Music)
  • Gail Migdal Title (Entertainment -Motion Pictures and Television, Media)
  • Thomas L. Van Wyngarden (Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions–Defendants)
  • Bruce G. Vanyo (Litigation–Securities)
  • Benzion J. Westreich (Real Estate)

New York

  • Karen Artz Ash (Trademark)
  • Sheri P. Chromow (Real Estate)
  • Jill E. Darrow (Tax)
  • Ronni G. Davidowitz (Trusts and Estates)
  • Chris DiAngelo (Securitization and Structured Finance)
  • Peter F. Nadel (Health Care)
  • Kenneth E. Noble (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization)
  • Anthony L. Paccione (Commercial Litigation)
  • Joshua S. Rubenstein (Trusts and Estates)
  • Martin Siroka (Real Estate)
  • Donald H. Siskind (Real Estate)
  • Robert E. Smith (Commercial Litigation, Litigation–Environmental, Litigation–Real Estate)
  • Bruce G. Vanyo (Litigation–Securities)
  • Joseph V. Willey (Health Care)

Orange County

  • Craig A. Barbarosh (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization)

Washington, DC

  • Joshua Berman (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
  • Glen Donath (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
  • Whitney Ellerman (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
  • Wendy Fields (Real Estate)
  • Charles H. Knauss (Environmental Law, Litigation–Environmental)
  • Kenneth G. Lore (Real Estate)
  • S. Scott Morrison (Commercial Litigation, Litigation–Real Estate)
  • Steven P. Solow (Litigation–Environmental)

Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which almost 50,000 leading attorneys cast nearly five million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas.